I mentioned last weekend that we went back to Ikea and bought all our storage for the kitchen wall where our stove used to be.

So, this week, the Colonel has been diligently knocking them together and minutely adjusting bits and pieces to account for our Queenslander’s wonky lines and measurement. Our floors are uneven and the walls don’t meet at right angles. Lucky he’s a builder and is a dab hand at solving such dilemmas. This, of course, doesn’t stop me from sticking my nose in from time to time and checking that he’s doing everything properly ( just like any typical pain-in-the-arse, control-freak female would): “I know you’ve been a builder for 50-odd years now, Colonel, but are you SURE the fridge is going to fit in that cavity?” The Colonel , bless him, has the good grace not to tell me to F#@k off!

The bare wall where the storage will go. Our stove and fridge used to sit along this wall.

The platform is done and the cupboards start to go in.

Here’s Craig modeling the new cupboards. He can just squeeze into them. I guess modeling is like riding a bicycle. You never forget how. I couldn’t resist putting in these shots of him back in his modeling days. I am soooo DEAD for publishing these….

Back when he had his school boy figure.

Anyway, back to the the sexy cupboards…

And the top layer goes on. They will actually run all the way to the end!

Hopefully doors and shelves will go in tomorrow.

Rachael x

